Skip to content


Ryan Library

Ryan Library: Named for Br. Patrick Joachim Ryan (1867-1948), who was the first provincial of the Christian Brothers in North America and a trustee of the College at its founding in 1940, Ryan Library first opened in 1949. Trustee and benefactor Patrick J. Lynch ’59, ’08H and the Lynch family made extensive additions and renovations possible to the library from 2009 to 2010.

Spellman Hall

Named for Francis Joseph Cardinal Spellman (1889-1967), Archbishop of New York from 1939 to 1967 and one of the most powerful bishops in the history of the American Church, Spellman Hall was the former Student Union and site of Iona Commencements from 1944 to 2004. In 2019, Iona celebrated the addition of a spectacular, 3,800 square-foot glass-enclosed space, which was added to Spellman Hall to accommodate the thriving Hynes Institute for Entrepreneurship & Innovation.

LaPenta School of Business

Formerly Hagan Hall, named for trustee and benefactor John G. Hagan, the building was built in 1950, was home to Iona Prep from 1950 to 1967 and housed the School of Business until 2019. In 2020, the building was expanded, dramatically updated and renamed for Robert V. LaPenta ’67, ’00H, College trustee and benefactor.

Hynes Athletics Center

Built in 1974, the Hynes Athletics Center was dramatically upgraded in 2019, significantly enhancing the game experience for both athletes and the fans. Iona is home to 21 varsity and NCAA Division I athletics teams.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.